松本城 Matsumoto Castle | Mountain City

This quaint mountain city is the second largest within the Nagano Prefecture and is situated just 2 hours away from Tokyo. It provides both a perfect day trip for those seeking respite from the hustle and bustle of the capital and also acts as a fantastic gateway for trips into the Japanese Alps, e.g. to Kamikochi, Norikura or the Tateyama-Kurobe Alpine Route.

A stay of 2 nights is more than enough to take in the relatively small city’s attractions, with the protagonist of course being Matsumoto-jō.

DSC_0731.JPG

Throughout my time I stayed at the cosy Matsumoto Backpackers Hostel, which provided authentic and most importantly affordable accommodation not too far from the train station but equally not too far from the castle. This was the first time I got to stay in a traditional tatami laden x futon room and I loved it!

Walking bare foot on the tatami mats reminded me of the old Karate days and I remember promising myself that I would build a Japanese themed room such as this in one of my future homes:

DSC_0468.JPG
My room for 2 nights

Beyond the sliding windows, the view was one of juxtaposition, as the Japanese alps provided the backdrop to modern buildings, cars and telephone wires:

DSC_0949.JPG

Matsumoto-jō is the oldest existing castle in Japan (roughly 400 years old). The whole city was built and remains structured around the strategically centred edifice which can ‘easily’ be found once you locate the main strip. I write ‘easily’ because without the help of the most friendly local, I would still be looking for the castle today!

You’ll know when you’re on the strip because you’ll be surrounded by large hotels, restaurants, cafes, banks and a few stuffy bookstores.

DSC_0823.jpg

As you walk along this mostly modern strip, you’d be right in thinking ‘surely there’s not a 400 year old castle at the end of this?!’- but have faith! Once you cross the road and enter the park grounds you are greeted with a deep hue green moat. If you continue to follow this round you are warmly welcomed with the below site!

DSC_0473.JPG
Matsumoto-jō peaking out behind the tall trees

The building was so impressive that I photographed it both in the day and then returned in the night for the floodlight reflections (blog coming soon!). Below are the day photographs I shot – browse through to learn more about the castle!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a comment